Being the Relationship Practice Dummy

Oh please, many of us have been that.  What is it you might ask?  Well, it’s the person that a piece of crap uses before meeting someone that they decide to treat with some sense.  Let me make it easier to understand because I just confused myself with that explanation:

Let’s say there’s a guy that’s a total piece of shit to a woman (no, this is not relegated to sex because there are some piece of shit women out there too).  He gets with a woman on and off.  He treats her like crap in all those instances until he finally gets tired of her and finds someone that he thinks is worth something (or the woman gets tired of being used and he learns too late that he loves her).  This man, in turn, finds a new woman and tries to do right by her because he learned that what he was doing wasn’t right OR he gains a heart.  It’s kind of like a guy having a whole stack of children by numerous women and being a deadbeat but finally marrying one and treating that child as if they are the only child in the world. 

I think you guys get my drift.  Now, back to what I was saying:  There are many of us out there that have been the dummy.  We were there during the “growing phase” of some man or woman.  We’re the ones that have been stolen from, abused, and treated like shit.  Then, some years later, you look up and you see wedding pics on Facebook of the new lovers together.  You laugh to yourself and say “Well, we’ll see how long that lasts” and, much to your chagrin, they last.  Now you could be bitter about this but why be bitter?  Everyone learns at their own pace. I’m sure none of us were perfect in our first relationship. I’m sure we’ve all used someone or someones as a dummy.  We’ve all been there.  And if you say you haven’t then I’m going to call you a liar because, as I’ve said in a previous rant, no one is born knowing what to do in a relationship.  We all have to learn, sometimes the hard way. 

Technically, I learned what NOT to do in a relationship with my ex fiance.  But I still have nothing to show for it.  LOL  But, sometimes you have to blame yourself for those circumstances. Relationship Karma of sorts.  When you do people dirty, dirty things can happen to you.  At some point, you have to accept that fate and hope that the tide will turn while you still have eggs to fertilize and/or all your teeth. 

And why wouldn’t there be practice dummies in relationships?  Relationships are like games to people.  People try to run love marathons but some of us don’t have the stamina to finish it out.  Some of us give up right near the finish line because we get so tired of waiting and feeling as though we’re the only ones in the relationship.  And then, what do you really get when you finish the race?  Maybe a ring.  But, even after all that fighting and training to get that ring, you STILL have to fight.  You will will have to fight inside and outside adversaries.  Nothing worth having is easy to obtain. Well, that’s what they keep telling me. 

I swear I just went all over the place with this one.  I usually do though.  I can’t stick to one subject.  Bottom line:  Try not to be that relationship test dummy for long.  It can break your spirit when it comes to running your own marathon.  I have been a test dummy.  It has honestly made me kind of sick of the game.  There’s but only so many hits you can take before you give up in that game.  To those that have completed the marathon and are relishing your trophies, I salute you.  You’re better than me though.  I have other stuff to do….like…um…watch Netflix…wait for Scandal to come back…and Sons of Anarchy comes on on Tuesday….yeah….I like that stuff. 

Leave a Reply

